I Dream of Vinyl

Music News, Reviews and Views


Freight Train // A Wall – Night Swimming

Bath-based dream pop five-piece Night Swimming recently released their wonderful debut double single ‘Freight Train // A Wall’. Produced by Calum Wotherspoon at Joe’s Garage in Bristol, and mastered by Novatines’ Tom Cory, their debut release is instantly striking. Combining atmospheric guitars, ethereal vocals and airy synths with echoing percussion and hypnotic choruses; each individual element is equally as evocative, while perfectly blended with a sugary sweet delivery that you can’t help but get lost in.

We asked the band to tell us a bit about the new songs:

“Freight Train // A Wall” is our debut double single, which links together two of our early songs. We feel that ‘Freight Train’ conveys a sense of detachment which seeps into ‘A Wall’. Our singer describes the latter as “a collection of memories and images about communication in relationships”.

Night Swimming are Meg Jones (Vocals), Sam Allen (Guitar), Jesse Roache (Guitar), Josh Nottle (Bass) and Torin Moore (Drums). Formed in 2021, the band have spent the last year honing in on their sound at sold-out headline shows in their home city of Bath and supporting the likes of China Bears and Parlophone Records’ own Sad Night Dynamite.

They were also scouted by the Close Encounters Club to be featured in Glastonbury Festival’s 2022 ‘Longlist’ – chosen to be one of their 90 top acts. Their sound incorporates the ethereal, melodic elements of the early Wolf Alice EPs and Slowdive albums; combining them with the minimalism of local idols Portishead and Massive Attack.

You can learn more about Night Swimming by visiting their website or follow them on Instagram and Facebook

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *